Hello everyone! This week was my parents 25th wedding anniversary. I went home over the weekend for dinner and we had over 30 family members at our home to celebrate. I was in charge of making one dessert. Since my mother loves coffee cake, I decided to look for recipes that would be quick and easy. Afterall, I am only a student and didn’t have the time or commitment to make more than the recipe I found.

Every young woman should know how to bake, right? Well I love to cook, but baking is not my specialty. “Quick & Easy Desserts” have great recipes online and like they advertise, the recipes are not too time consuming and are easy to follow. The coffee cake recipe that I found is very simple and is not expensive to make. It is perfect for someone, such as a college student, who doesn’t have the funds, time, or patience to make a complicated dessert. And let me tell you, after tasting it–you would never believe how little work went into the preparation.

 

Coffee Cake Ingredients
4 egg yokes
4 egg whites
¼ cup of sugar
45 grams of almonds, minced
½ teaspoon of vanilla
3 teaspoons of instant coffee dissolved in;
4 teaspoons of boiling water (let it cool)
30 grams of flour
Coffee grains bathed in chocolate finely grated chocolate

Coffee Cream Recipe
1 cup of thick whipped cream
1 teaspoon of instant coffee dissolved in
2 teaspoons of boiling water (let it cool)
1-2 tablespoons of glazed sugar
2 tablespoons of coffee liquor

Preparation of this easy coffee cake recipe.:

  1. Dough: Whip the egg yokes and sugar until they cream.  Add the almonds, vanilla and dissolved coffee.
  2. Whip the egg whites until they snow peak.  Sift the flour over the whipped egg yokes and mix it with the egg whites until they snow peak.  Pour this dough in a greased mold (20 cm diameter) and bake for 20-25 minutes or until its completely cooked. Leave 10 minutes in the mold; later flip over a grid and let it cool off completely.
  3. Coffee Cream: Whip the cream, dissolved coffee, sugar, and coffee liquor together in a bowl.  Horizontally cut the baked bread in half and spread some of the coffee cream to join both halves. Spread the rest of the cream over the sides of the bread. Decorate the bread with the chocolate grains and grated chocolate. Place the coffee cake  in the refrigerator and serve in slices.

10 servings

Let’s just say the coffee cake was the first dessert on the dessert table to go! Everyone who tried it enjoyed it and more than five people asked me for the recipe. My brother’s laughed at my success, because usually my desserts end up missing an ingredient, burned on the bottom, or not fully cooked.

The coffee cream that is spread over the actual cake is different than other coffee cakes I have made (or attempted to make). It is an easy touch and a big hit amoung those who ate the cake. Some of my family members, along with myself, are allergic to nuts. I did not put the almonds in my cake for that reason. I find that a nut allergy is more common these days and it can be hard for those with this allergy to find a dessert that is nut free. For those who like almonds, all them in! Let us know how the cake tastes afterwards!

Other coffee cake recipes are slightly different. If you do not like this one than search for a new recipe because there are a variety of coffee cakes out there and they can all taste different!

After trying this recipe, I gained confidence in my baking skills. I printed out the recipe for my relatives before they left on Sunday.

