This week, I decided to cook dinner for myself and my three roomates! They all love italian food, but we never have the time to cook a full meal and eat together. So, after I took a vote, everyone decided on either chicken or lasagna. I found a quick and simple recipe for “Chicken Lasagna Roll-ups,” so I surprised them.

The recipe came from an online cooking website called “CDkitchen.” It took me a total of an hour and 30 minutes to prepare and cook this meal, which was on target with what the recipe had suggested. The website informs its audience that the difficulty level on this meal may be higher than others. However, I did not have any issues following the recipe or preparing the food.

Once the chicken lasagna rolls were done, we all sat down for dinner. Everyone loved it! They were served with a side salad and sliced italian bread. The girls were surprised at how little preparation time I needed for this delicious sit down meal.

The recipe is as follows:

Ingredients:
6 lasagna noodles, uncooked
1 package (6 oz. size)chicken breast strips
1 cup Ricotta cheese
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
2 cups spaghetti sauce
1 cup shredded Mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375F. Cook noodles as directed on package. Rinse with cold water; drain well.

Mix chicken, ricotta cheese, Parmesan cheese, egg and seasoning; spread 1/3 cup of the chicken mixture onto each noodle. Roll up tightly; place, seam sides down, in 9-inch square baking dish. Pour spaghetti sauce over roll-ups; sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.

Bake 30 minutes or until heated through.

 **This recipe from CDKitchen for Chicken Lasagna Roll-Ups serves/makes 6**

Here’s a free coupon for Classico Spaghetti Sauce! Enjoy!

I did not have as much time to spend on preparing dessert for everybody so I found a great recipe for Oreo Cheesecake. The easy thing about this cheesecake is you do not have to bake anything. Sounds simple enough, right? Well try it out yourself and see! My roomate, Celia, and I made the cheesecake yesterday afternoon before I began cooking dinner and it was not only easy, but fun to make.

Recipegirl.com is a great blogging website for recipes. You can find just about any type of meal, appetizer, dessert, or cocktail that you would like there! I was searching for some sort of oreo dessert, because I knew it would go over big in our house. I came across the “No-Bake Oreo Cheesecake” on Recipe Girl’s blog.

CRUST:
48 Oreo Cookies, crushed
¾ cup butter, softened

FILLING:
3 env. unflavored gelatin
¾ cup cold water
Three 8oz. packages of cream cheese, softened
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
2 ¼ cups milk
3 cups Cool Whip
30 Oreo cookies, crushed

1. Combine crust ingredients and press into a 9×13″ pan. Set aside.

2. In small saucepan, soften gelatin in water, stir over low heat until dissolved.

3. In large bowl, blend cream cheese and sugar until well blended. Add milk and gelatin gradually. Mix until well combined. Chill mixture until thickened but not set.

4. Mix in Cool Whip. Pour all but 1 ½ cups of the mixture into the pan. Add the cookies to the rest of the mixture, pour on top, and refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.

Cooking Tips:
*Arrange topping in a decorative way.

 

As you can imagine, if you are a cheesecake fan, the responses on the dessert went over even better than the dinner itself. Four girls were eating, and there was only one sliver of cheesecake left over! I hope you try these recipes and see if you can add a touch of your own to make the meal more suitable for your guests. Check out the blogs that are linked to my page and see if you find any recipes on there that you would like share with family or friends. Try them out and get back to me on the results!

Best of luck!

